Adult Training Continuum

Training Home

Five Levels of the BSA training Continuum (Your Next Step)

The five levels of the training continuum that make up the graded approach are joining, orientation, basic, supplemental, and advanced. Each level is designed for a specific purpose, with the first required of all registered leaders, the next two being more role-based training, and the last two being more focused on advanced skills and leadership.

Completion of basic training is the measurement for being "trained" in the BSA. Becoming "trained" will allow you wear a trained patch on your uniform!

Required for All
Role-Based Training
Advanced Skills & Leadership
Level 3: Basic

All leaders are encouraged to take part in leader position-specific training before they meet with youth to prepare them for the opportunities and responsibilities relating to their leadership positions. Once you complete this level you are now "Trained"!