Adult Training Continuum

Training Home

Five Levels of the BSA training Continuum (Your Next Step)

The five levels of the training continuum that make up the graded approach are joining, orientation, basic, supplemental, and advanced. Each level is designed for a specific purpose, with the first required of all registered leaders, the next two being more role-based training, and the last two being more focused on advanced skills and leadership.

Completion of basic training is the measurement for being "trained" in the BSA. Becoming "trained" will allow you wear a trained patch on your uniform!

Required for All
Role-Based Training
Advanced Skills & Leadership
Level 2: Orientation

Fast Start training is designed to be used immediately when a leader takes on a new Scouting role, to get a leader off to a fast start before basic training is available.